Néstor Vázquez Bernat
NLIt sucks It sucks! massive price increases and all kinds of sleazy tacktings to prevent you from cancelling the renewal.
Alan
GBDodgy billing practices The Good: I've found Backblaze to be unobtrusive and just gets on doing its thing in the background. When I've needed to restore files, it's worked. The bad: There is no way to cancel auto-renewal of the subscription without deleting your backup and stopping your service the day you stop the auto-renewal. Pick your word for this: dodgy, wrong, unethical, robbery.
Scuba
NLGreat to upload, impossible to restore Awful, the download speeds (and reliability) mean I haven't been able to successfully download a file for a year and have now just deleted and given up. So poor, go to iDrive, bigger limits and faster restores that work.
Abby MacLean
GBBlack hole of customer service If I could give negatives stars (black hole perhaps) I would. I have been working over a week trying to get the software working since an upgrade of their software last week - and getting incomplete instructions or the same, non-solution solutions for something that probably needs tier 2 support. After 3 tries of reinstalling the software and trying to inherit my original account, I tried one last time. Only to discover that software limitations won't display more than 3 items so won't even display my original account to choose and so I am now DOA. Once again waiting for a couple of days to hear back from customer service. Unless I get resolution this time, I'm cancelling and going with another product. There are no phone numbers to call and trying to resolve complex problems via emails that happen once a day is not adequate customer supsport.
Andrew
GBOnly useful in some cases Pros: very fast, doesn't hog CPU or memory like CrashPlan Cons: deleted files are only retained for 30 days. Backblaze is essentially only useful in cases where a hard drive completely fails / external hard drive is physically broken. If a hard drive starts slowly corrupting over time, or if you accidentally delete files and don't realize it within the 30 day limit, you're screwed. Absolutely useless in those cases.